Library Card 101: Everything you need to know
September is National Library Card sign-up month at the library!
If you have friends or family who still haven’t signed up for a library card, bring them by this month for a special treat.
There are many benefits to having a Summit County Library card. Beyond just checking out books, you can use your card to access resources at your local library and online.
Keep reading to learn more:
Library Card Benefits
- Sign up for text message reminders when materials are due.
- Control your account online—place holds, renew and review titles, and track your reading history.
- Check out eBooks and eAudiobooks through Overdrive on the library website or the Libby mobile app.
- Check out eMagazines with no limits, holds, or due dates through RB Digital.
- Check out iPads, Chromebooks, Kindles, and video equipment at select locations.
- Check out a State Parks Pass that allows one vehicle into any state park for free!
- Access The New York Times online collection with no limits through summitcountylibraries.org.
- Utilize online databases to access journal articles, local resources, and more.
Library Card Basics
- You can use your card at Main Library in Frisco, North Branch in Silverthorne, and South Branch in Breckenridge.
- Materials borrowed from any of the three libraries may be returned to any of the three.
- Materials not on hold for another patron may be renewed two times by phone, in person, or online at summitcountylibraries.org.
- You can check out up to 99 books, CD books, or magazines, but only four (4) DVDs per account.
- Your first library card is free, but replacement cards cost $2.50.
- Books, CD books, and magazines can be checked out for two weeks. There is a one-week (7-day) grace period after the due date that entitles you to return materials without charge. However, eight days after a book is due, fines will be $.25 per item per day from the original due date.Maximum fines are $3.00 per item and $2.00 per magazine.
- DVDs can be checked out for one week and have no grace period. DVDs will be charged $1.00 per each day overdue with a maximum fine of $5.00 per DVD.
How do I apply for a Summit County Library Card?
You must present proof of a valid mailing address or work ID in Summit County at any of our three locations. If you have a library card from another library in Colorado, we can issue you a Summit County library card.
What counts as acceptable identification?
- Driver’s license
- Property tax receipt
- Vehicle registration
- Rent receipt
- Utility bill
- Lease agreement, mortgage, or deed of trust
- Local pay stub
- Letter from employer or employee ID (Vail Resorts employee ID)
- Check book
- Bank Statement
- Name listed in current phone book
- Voter registration
- Colorado Mountain College Student ID
- Homeowner’s Insurance
These can be in a digital format.
What if I don’t live or work in Summit County?
You can purchase a one-year Guest Card for a non-refundable fee of $10.00.
How long is my library card valid, and how do I renew it?
Summit County Library cards are valid for two years. After two years, they can be renewed by phone or in person at any branch location.
Can I get a library card if I’m under 18?
No. You can get a Youth Card with a parent or guardian present, and they must be present and have their library card on hand in order for us to issue a Youth Card.
Still have questions? Click here to learn how to contact us.